Forbidden Rice

Forbidden Rice, also referred to as black rice, is a short-grain heirloom rice from Asia.  It’s actually purple in color, due to it’s high content of anthocyanins (phytonutrients).  According to Lotus Foods (the brand I bought):

“Legend tells us that Forbidden Rice was once grown exclusively for the Emperors of China to enrich their health and ensure their longevity.  Today, this heirloom rice is prized for its fragrant aroma, nutty taste, deep purple color and nutritional value.  It pairs beautifully with fish, meat and colorful vegetables.  An everyday favorite – use steamed, in pilafs, stir-fries, and salads.”

The Nutritional Information for 1/4 cup dry (3/4 cup cooked) is: 160 calories, 1.5 grams fat, 34 grams carbohydrate, 2 grams fiber, 5 grams protein, and 4% iron.

The nutritional composition of forbidden rice is very similar to that of brown rice, the main difference is the presence of the phytochemicals which act as antioxidants in the body.  And personally, I think the taste is far superior!

I used this recipe for the forbidden rice salad, the only things I did differently were that I used 2 red bell peppers and 1/3 cup cashews.  It was really delicious.  I added a little more lime juice and soy sauce at the end.

I made it on Saturday night and served it with miso cod and bok choy – it was quite a delicious dinner!  Last night I served myself 1 cup of the leftover salad over a bed of spinach with baked tofu.  Another winning combination!

Have you ever tried forbidden rice?

6 Responses

  1. I was wondering how you prepare and bake your tofu! It looks delish!

  2. I was excited to read this post on heirloom rice. I discovered it over a year ago when I participated in a rice program through my local co-op. I had about 6 or 8 different types of rice in my basket but the one that stood out in color and flavor was the black heirloom. My husband and I love the nutty favor of it! I hope that it grows in popularity because I can’t find it at my local market and WF (which probably carries it) is over 20 miles away!

  3. […] Posts Forbidden RiceFettuccine CarbonaraAbout EveGet Rid of Temptation!Recipes & Meal IdeasNo Deli Meats for […]

  4. Black rice can be used to prepare a great dessert. Just cook it with sugar until soft and add coconut milk.
    http://www.ricecalorie.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

