My Favorite Breakfast

Breakfast is one of those meals that I get into ruts with.   All other meals and snacks I tend to vary quite a bit.  Whatever my choice for breakfast is, I always make sure to get a combination of: calcium (milk, yogurt or cheese), whole grains (cereal, oats or bread), fruit, and healthy fat (flax, nuts or nut butters).  For the last few months (minus my trip to Europe), I have been on a Greek Yogurt kick.  I absolutely love Greek Yogurt, it is incredibly rich and creamy, and the nutritional stats don’t hurt, providing high amounts of protein and calcium.

July 13th Breakfast

This was today’s combination for my yogurt bowl.  I absolutely love the summer for the assortment of fresh fruit – berries are my favorite and the strawberries were incredibly sweet!   My supermarket carries huge containers of Fage 0% making it much more affordable.  This container provides ~ 5, 3/4 cup servings, and costs $6 and change, not bad for greek yogurt!  I combined 3/4 cup yogurt with 3 strawberries, a handful of blueberries and healthy sprinkling of ground flax.  The flax is for a dose of omega-3 fatty acids and to help with satiety (fat free breakfasts leave me wanting more).  I grind up small portions (that’s a 1/2 cup tupperware), and keep it in the refrigerator so it doesn’t go rancid.  For fiber, I had a cup of Kashi Good Friends.  I switch up my cereal quite a bit but right now I’m loving this, it’s a nice combination of flakes, fiber twigs and sweet pieces of granola, yum!

All together with my daily dose of coffee:

Breakfast July 13th

2 Responses

  1. love this combo! i am a greek yogurt fanatic as well…. AND love kashi cereals. quick, simple…tastes great!

  2. Home-based business ideas

Leave a Reply

