CSA Delivery: Red Leaf, Corn, Potatoes…

CSA Vegetables

Every Friday I get a delivery of vegetables (and one fruit) from a local farm.  We share it with another couple since it’s meant for a family of 4.  The other couple was away, so we had the entire box all to ourselves!  This week the farm sent: 2 large heads of red leaf lettuce, 6 ears of corn, sweet onions, fresh apricots, ~2 pounds of yukon gold potatoes, and 4 large zucchini.  I first sorted out the vegetables to store properly:

CSA Vegetables

I wrapped paper towl around the base of the lettuce heads to keep them fresh, then stored in the plastic bag in the refrigerator.  I kept the potatoes out, you should not refrigerate potatoes (the refrigerator turns the starch to sugar).  Corn should be eaten quickly, since it tastes the best but if you’re not going to then keep them in their husks and place in a bag in the fridge.   I also stored the onions & apricots in the fridge for later use.

With a lot of these vegetables I decided to make a big salad for lunch.  I decided to use an ear of corn, I first shucked the corn, and then wrapped it in a damp paper towel, placed on a microwave safe cooking plate and cooked for 3 minutes.  This cooks the corn perfectly!  I used a knife to take it off the cobb and added it to my salad.

Lunch Salad

This was an incredibly satisfying salad, it hit all the taste buds and included fiber, protein and some fat to keep me full!

The base was the fresh red leaf lettuce, on top I added:

  • a small chopped carrot
  • 1/2 kirby
  • 1/2 red bell pepper
  • 1 ear of corn
  • 1/4 avocado
  • roasted kohlrabi
  • 1 cooked & chopped Bilinski’s chicken sausage
  • 1/2 ounce fresh goat cheese
  • Balsamic Vinegar on top

The chicken sausage is a great protein topping for salad since it’s pre-cooked you just have to heat it up!  I like the  Bilinski’s brand because they are lower in sodium (this one had ~350 mg per link), and low in fat and calories.

For fat, I added avocado (heart-healthy) and a little goat cheese.

The salad was very high in fiber between all the raw vegetables, kohlrabi and corn.

This was a winner combination!

Leave a Reply

