Fabulous Dinner at Manoir de la Roseraie

Back to my European trip…After Burgundy Dan (my husband) and I drove south to the Rhone region.  Our next destination was: Grignan, France.  It took us a while to find Manoir de la Roseraie, but once we did we were quite pleased with what we saw:

Manoir de la Roseraieand the back:

Manoir backWe spent the afternoon exploring the castle in Grignan (dates back to the 11th century!).  And went to a local wine vineyard that had really great inexpensive wines and truffles!  Then we relaxed by the pool until it was time for dinner.  Dinner and breakfast was included in our evening stay.  After getting ready for the evening, we sat outside with a glass of wine where they brought us a little crudite to nibble on:

Aperitif

Then we went inside for our meal.  We had a set 4 course meal included, without any options – it’s a good thing I am such a flexible eater!.   To start they gave us an amuse-bouche of cucumber veloute.  It was absolutely delicious, the cucumber was very cool and refreshing, a perfect way to excite your palate!

cucumber veloute

For an appetizer, there was a mozzarella and tomato salad.  To tell you the truth, I was not very excited about this.  I enjoy mozzarella but it is not my favorite, and I thought of this as more an Italian dish than French.  However, after my first bite I was amazing!  It was probably one of the best tasting things I had all trip long.  After analyzing a bit, I wondered if it was really mozzarella, the bottom layer was creamy almost like ricotta, and on top there was a traditional piece of mozzarella.  So I asked the waitress what it was, and in her broken english and my poor french we were able to learn that it was “creamed mozzarella” – hah!  not the healthiest thing, but I have to tell you it was amazing.  I knew it was quite rich, so I did not eat it all.

Mozzarella & Tomato

For an entree, the restaurant was serving duck breast.  I also ordered a glass of red wine with the meal.  Turns out the wines they served by the glass were from the local vineyard we had visited earlier that day.  The duck breast was cooked perfectly, I didn’t eat the skin.  It was a small piece of meat, approximately 3 ounces.  With the duck were some vegetables and a little potato.   It was a very tasty, yet simple meal.

Duck Breast

Then came the cheese course.  Between the appetizer and cheese course there was quite a lot of cheese.  And of course they served my favorite cheese: goat!  It was a trio of cheeses: fresh goat, semi-aged goat, and aged goat.  I ate a little bit more than 1/2 of what you see below.  The fresh goat cheese was my favorite.

Cheese CourseLastly, came the dessert.  The fresh fruit was perfect at the end of the meal, with it were two little pieces of a fresh waffle with fresh cream and mint granita.  I guess mint granita is more popular in france than I realized.  I loved it just as much this time as the previous night.  I ate everything minus the cream.

DessertAll in all, I loved this meal.  The atmosphere was great and the food was really good.  I was pleased that I didn’t finish everything that I was served.  I left feeling quite full, but not overly stuffed.

3 Responses

  1. What a lovely blog! 🙂 I’ll be going into my senior year as a nutrition/dietetics major, so I’m always interested in finding new, good health & nutrition blogs. 🙂

  2. Bonjour, je suis le chef de cuisine au manoir de la roseraie, et je tenais a vous remercier pour cette jolie et agréable critique concernant ma cuisine et les commentaire sur le manoir.
    Merci et au plaisir de vous recevoir de nouveau
    Freddy Trichet

Leave a Reply

