Kohlrabi!

Kohl-what?  Most poeple I have spoken to in the past week have never heard of kohlrabi.  So you may be asking “what is it?”  Kohlrabi is a vegetable in the cabbage family, sometimes referred to as the “German Turnip.”  The taste is similar to a broccoli stem, with a crunchy texture and a slight bitter yet sweet taste.  The sweetness will intensify if you cook it.  Kohlrabi can be eaten raw or cooked.

I recently started getting weekly farm deliveries from a local farm, which is a great way to experiment with new recipes and try vegetables you may not have bought on your own.  Kohlrabi was something I had no idea what to do with!

Kohlrabi

1 cup (135 grams) of raw Kohlrabi has 36 calories, 8 grams of carbohydrate, 5 of which are dietary fiber, and 2 grams of protein.  It is an excellent source of vitamin C.

I first decided to try kohlrabi raw.  I peeled it with a knife, chopped it, and added it in a salad.  I was not very impressed with the taste – tasted a bit bitter to me.  I decided that I would probably prefer it cooked, and my favorite way to cook vegetables is roasting them, so that’s what I decided to do.  I placed the peeled, chopped kohlrabi on a cookie sheet lined with aluminum foil and sprayed with cooking spray.  I then tossed it with 1 tsp of olive oil, salt & pepper.

Chopped Kohlrabi

I preheated my oven to 400 degrees, placed the kohlrabi in the oven.  I turned the kohlrabi over after 15 minutes and let cook for another 15 minutes.  After 30 minutes in the oven, they were cooked perfectly.  I added them to a salad for lunch and loved them!  Roasted kohlrabi becomes sweet, similar to a roasted turnip, the bitter taste completely goes away.  I will definitely make roasted kohlrabi again.

Leave a Reply

