White Bean Salad

I love to entertain and have friends over.   And it’s even better when you have some tried and true recipes to stand by without using your guests as guinea pigs!  This is a recipe, is one I’ve “borrowed” from my dad.  His original inspiration was at Po restaurant in NYC, it’s really great there too just a lot more oily!

White Bean Bruschetta

This appetizer is inexpensive to make and quite a crowd pleaser!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can cannellini (white) beans beans
  • 1/2 large vidalia (sweet) onion, chopped
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 3-4 ribs celery
  • 1/3 cup cilantro, chopped
  • 2-3 TB extra virgin olive oil (or more if you prefer)
  • 2 TB balsamic vinegar
  • salt & pepper to taste

onions & garlic

Cilantro

Combine all ingredients, marinate in refrigerator for a few hours.

Serve bruschetta style on sliced bread, or in a bowl with bread & crackers for dipping (that’s what I do).

White Bean Salad

Nutrition Tidbit: Why beans are great:

  1. They are cheap!  1 can is typically 99 cents and provides 3.5 servings!
  2. Good for those on restrictive diets (gluten free, vegan, and others)
  3. They are a great source of protein and are naturally fat free
  4. They are a great source of fiber, which helps to keep you full and keep you regular.
  5. Beans are extremely versatile: add them to soups, salads, ground meat, stir-fries, rice, and even brownies!
  6. They provide iron (good for those who eliminate meat from their diet)
6 Responses

  1. Was the photo of Italian parsley or cilantro?
    The usual recipe calls for parsley , but I often use cilantro, depends on what we have.

  2. wow this sounds so good! Love any type of salads with beans 🙂

  3. It’s cilantro – I love the spiciness it adds!

    Thanks Kailey.

  4. This does look like an AWESOME app! I love beans…I eat them almost every day!

    blackened tilapia for din din tonight hmm?? Sounds awesome! I just bought a HUGE bag of frozen tilapia from costco this weekend and I cannot get enough of it! I usually TRY to buy local fish but I could not pass up the deal at Costco

  5. Oh my! I’ve just “favorited” your blog! I’m making those beans for lunch next week! Yum!!!!

  6. […] In the center you see homemade pita chips, carrots, celery, hummus, homemade yogurt dip. On the left is edamame and on the right is my homemade white bean salad. […]

Leave a Reply

