I’m Not Perfect

Gelato

That is gelato – 1 scoop of yogurt and 1 scoop of hazelnut.  And guess what, it was my lunch?!

I will get back to that lunch in Valpolicella, Italy in a minute.  But my main point of this post is to say that no one is perfect, and that there is no one perfect diet.  A lot of the time, people expect me as a dietitian to eat “perfectly” all the time, and by that they expect no desserts, no white bread, no saturated fat, and the list goes on.  But guess what, that would not be realistic.  I believe that you have to find a balance in life.  Yes the majority of your diet should be made of fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean protein, low fat dairy and healthy fats.  But there is room for fun foods too!

In our society we point fingers and are always labeling that food as “good” or that one as “bad.”  But what really matters is your overall diet.  Why should we feel guilty over one ice cream cone?  Trust me, I have before and many of my clients have.  But why?  Is anyone judging me for having ice cream?  NO!  Is that ice cream going to make me gain weight? NO!  Is that one cone going to clog my arteries?  NO!  So why should I feel guilty?

I’m at a point where I can be comfortable with what I eat.  I eat healthy foods the majority of the time, and leave the guilt behind with the fun foods.  I take my time, eat slowly, and savor each and every bite!

Some days you have no control over what you eat and you need to make the best out of the situation that you can.  This day in Italy was a perfect example.

My husband and I drove from Monte Carlo to Valopolicella, Italy where we checked into Villa Giona.

Villa Giona

The grounds were breathtaking!  We settled into our room that was in part of the villa that dated back to the 11th century.   At this point it was around 1:30 and we were getting very hungry!  We wanted to do some wine tasting that afternoon and planned on having lunch before.  We had some trouble finding the town and somewhere to eat.  Finally we found a local who offered some recommendations for lunch  We walked into the 1st restaurant and the woman says in Italian that they are CLOSED, and points to her watch – it was 2:30.  We proceed to go to the other 2 restaurants in town and they’re both closed!  Little did we know that all restaurants shut down at 2:30!!!

We’re both very hungry and we did not want to go wine tasting on an empty stomach.  This was such a tiny town there were no markets or food stores either.

Finally we stumble upon a gelato shop that was open!  Dan looks at me and says “we’re having gelato for lunch!”  and I said “that sounds great!”  We really just wanted anything to eat at that point.  The woman in the store also pointed out one panini she had left.   So we split that and each had gelato.

Panini

It was a very satisfying lunch, despite not being perfectly “nutritionally balanced” – but once in a while that’s ok!

On to wine tasting we went!

Amarone Tasting

I’m not perfect, but what I am is healthy & happy!

8 Responses

  1. That’s a really great attitude to have! I really hope to get there one day! 🙂

  2. Love it!

  3. no one’s perfect, but i think you’re just being true to yourself, there’s nothing to feel bad about! 😉 it balances out in the long run!

    and, umm, you’re in italy, must have gelato 🙂 yum…

  4. You may remember the post I did about a week ago, about eating a pint of raw ice cream for breakfast 😀

  5. Hey Eve! Just found your blog! Great philosophy- I totally agree- and I’m an RD too! I love reading other RD’s blogs – look forward to reading more!

  6. I think its good to have a desserty type meal every once in a while. In fact, one of my favorite dinners is banana chocolate chip pancakes 😉 WHy not- you only live once!

  7. No one is perfect. Sometimes a scoop of gelato for lunch is exactly what you need 🙂

  8. I LOVE all your pictures, oh how I would love to go to Italy 🙂 I find that too, many people think dietitians have to eat perfectly all the time and that certainly is not the case. Perfection is not the key, right? I also enjoy a nice treat every once in awhile, but try to eat healthfully most of the time 🙂 Did you go with a tour group or on your own? Looks like a blast! Thanks for visiting my blog too, can’t wait to keep reading yours.
    -kristen

Leave a Reply

