Inside Scoop on Sushi

Have you ever wondered how many calories are in sushi rolls?

Last week I ordered in from Haru, which is an upscale chain sushi restaurant in Manhattan.  I typically order salmon/avocado roll with brown rice and a piece or two of sashimi.  In addition I order a seaweed salad, edamame or a salad to complete my dinner.  This time I decided to take apart the roll to figure out how much of each component was in the roll to figure out the calories.  Keep an eye out, I will likely be doing this again for comparison sake!

Sushi

I love tuna, but order salmon since tuna is high in mercury, and get an extra healthy dose of omega-3s from the salmon!  This roll is higher in fat due to the salmon & avocado, but it’s all healthy unsaturated fat.  The combination of the lean protein (salmon), healthy fat (salmon & avocado), and fiber (brown rice), is a winning combination for satiety.

Nutritional Breakdown: 1 roll (6 pieces)*

224 calories, 7 grams fat, 24 grams carbohydrate, 3 grams fiber, 16 grams protein

*I did not factor in any added sugar.  Sushi rice is typically made with rice vinegar, sugar & salt.  Since I did not have the recipe, I used basic cooked brown rice for the analysis.

Nutrition Tidbit:

Keep in mind that this nutritional breakdown is for this role in particular, sizes of rolls can vary quite a bit. However if you keep the roll simple, calories are very reasonable.

When ordering sushi:

  • Start with miso soup or green salad (ask for the dressing on the side)
  • Share an order of edamame for your table
  • Enjoy a combination of sashimi (fish only), sushi (fish over rice), or maki (rolls)
  • Skip the eel (very high in fat) and anything with “tempura”, cream cheese, or mayo/spicy sauces.
  • If brown rice is an option, get it!
  • Always ask for low sodium soy sauce, but still use it sparingly (1 Tablespoon has 575 mg!)
  • Enjoy some wasabi and pickled ginger with your sushi (but remember they contain sodium too!)
9 Responses

  1. **shades eyes**

    🙂

    with sushi I think I simply dont wanna know.

    but yes.

    I bookmarked this post in case I do.

  2. some of that sushi is pretty dense and very filling and so good! In college we would get all you can eat sushi because it was really cheaper in Reno. Some of the guys would eat like 6 rolls! Yikes! I could eat about 1 1/2 – 2 and then go into a sushi coma lol

  3. I absolutely adore sushi and I used to eat it in crazy amounts, thinking it was healthy. Unfortunately it does add up calorically. As you estimate here, just 1 roll is ~250 cals (w/sugar, etc) and a small lunch special would have at least 3 of those (which I used to think was not enough). Now I eat sushi as an idulgence and use guidelines similar to those you mention here. It’s still hard to have just a few pieces though. It’s just so good!!! 🙂

  4. I’m a huge fan of sushi and it always surprises me how filling and satisfying it is (especially with the brown rice substitute!!)

    Great tips…thanks so much for sharing! 😀

  5. What a delicious photo! =D Thanks for the nutrition info–I love salmon maki. I wish I could get brown rice in my sushi but I’ve never come across that option where I live.

  6. Wow! I’m amazed you took it all apart and could still eat it after! So good to know the nutrition facts – people always assume sushi is super duper healthy. It can be, but as you said, only if you’re careful ordering. Great post!

  7. Thanks for the tip about the eel. Unfortunately, that is my favorite! So, I will try to eat less of it due to the high fat content. I do like the salmon rolls though – actually, I love all sushi. I’m just going to have to remind myself that I don’t need all that rice and all of that soy sauce – even if it is low-sodium.

  8. I didn’t know that eel was high in fat. No wonder it tastes so good. I should eat that in moderation from now on.

  9. […] Sushi while Pregnant Posted on January 15, 2010 by nutritionbyeve Today is pregnancy talk  There are a lot of forbidden foods when pregnant.  Last week I told you about deli meats and today it’s sushi.  Sushi is not allowed since raw fish can carry a lot of bacteria causing mom to become sick. While it’s possible that it will not harm your baby, the last thing you want is food poisoning while pregnant!  I’ve written about sushi before, so if you want the low down on calories and nutrition and what to order when eating sushi when not pregnant read this post called “The Inside Scoop on Sushi.” […]

Leave a Reply

