Spaghetti Squash

Do you love Italian food and big bowls of pasta?  If you do and you have trouble controlling your portions spaghetti squash may be the perfect answer for you!  Now I love pasta, and still enjoy it, but sometimes I want something lighter like spaghetti squash:

spaghetti squashAbout Spaghetti Squash:

A large variety of winter squash that is usually yellow in color, ranging from 4-8 pounds.  When raw the flesh is hard like other types of squash, however, once cooked the flesh separates into strands that resemble spaghetti.  Spaghetti squash will stay fresh at room temperature for several weeks.  It also freezes very well.  To do so, cook squash, place strands in freezer storage bags, and microwave to defrost.

Nutrition Information: 1 cup cooked, no fat added

42 calories, 0 grams fat, 10 grams carbohydrate, 2 grams fiber, and 1 gram protein

How to Cook:

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees
  • Wash squash
  • Slice in half, lengthwise

Sliced squash

  • Remove seeds
  • squashPlace flesh side down in pyrex dish coated with cooking spray
  • Cook in oven for one hour, small ones may take less time
  • Remove from oven, allow to cool
  • With squash in your palm, take a fork to the flesh and remove “spaghetti” strands from squash
  • Top with your favorite sauce and serve!

Spaghetti Squash Meal

Here’s a photo of my dinner: spaghetti squash topped with homemade tomato-eggplant sauce, ricotta salata & fresh basil.  Served with a massaged kale salad (kale, lemon juice, olive oil, dash or salt, and a drop of honey).

Nutrition Tidbit:

  • 1 cup of cooked spaghetti has 220 calories
  • For every cup of spaghetti you substitute with spaghetti squash you will save approximately 180 calories!
10 Responses

  1. Thank you so much for explaining in detail how to go about making spaghetti squash!! I’ve seen others making “spaghetti” with it, but was always wondering how to go about baking it.

    Looks delicious! 😀

  2. I never knew it was so easy to use spaghetti squash like this. It looks delicious! I may have to try it soon.

  3. Mmm… spaghetti squash is one of my favorite foods!

  4. What an awesome dinner! I’m trying this very soon 🙂 Thanks for posting.

  5. Great tip! I don’t think the spaghetti and spaghetti squash really taste the same but it is still a fun veggie 🙂

  6. LOVE spaghetti squash! I do mine in the microwave. Your dinner looks incredible- what a fabulous (yet healthy!) combo

  7. Love it! Such a great idea! Love the combo with the massaged kale!

  8. I have never tried spaghetti squash before, can you believe that?! I can’t seem to find it in England, but the second I get back to the US I cant’ wait to dig in. I pretty much love anything with marinara sauce on it, so this would be a great pasta fake out 😉 Thanks for the info.

  9. spaghetti squash is THE BEST. no point in ever eating pasta again. haha fo real though its awesome!

  10. This squash is the love of my life and I eat it every single day, and I am not joking! ha ha!

Leave a Reply

