Chicken Parmesan

Eating healthy does not have to be boring, in fact I think healthy eating can be and should be delicious!  That’s why I try to create foods that I’m craving at home in healthy ways.

I was inspired by my spaghetti squash and tomato sauce from the previous evening, and decided chicken parmesan would be perfect!

Chicken Parm

Recipe: Chicken Parmesan

Serves 4

  • 4 thinly sliced chicken breasts, approximately 3-4 oz each (i use Murray’s which is antibiotic free)
  • 1/3 cup whole wheat italian seasoned breadcrumbs
  • 1 large egg white
  • 1/2 cup tomato sauce
  • 2 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese

Method

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  • Line baking sheet with aluminum foil & coat with cooking spray
  • Trim any extra fat from chicken breasts
  • Place breadcrumbs in a shallow dish, and place large egg white in another shallow dishingredients
  • Dip chicken breast in egg whites and then in breadcrumbs and place on cookie sheet.  Continue with the remaining breasts.
  • Chicken BreastsPlace in oven and cook for 15-20 minutes, thicker breasts will take longer (these are 3 ounces each)
  • Remove breasts from oven, top with tomato sauce and 1/2 ounce fresh mozzarella cheese
  • Turn oven to broil, add chicken breasts back in and broil for 2-4 minutes until the cheese becomes bubbly and starts to brown – watch yours closely so they do not burn!
  • Chicken ParmesanServe over pasta or spaghetti squash or place on a hero for a chicken parmesan sub!Plated Chicken Parmesan

Here is my dinner plate: chicken parmesan served over spaghetti squash with tomato sauce and a side of roasted kale.

Nutrition Information: one 3 ounce breast of chicken

208 calories, 8 grams fat, 3 grams saturated fat, 9 grams carbohydrate, 2 grams fiber, 24 grams protein

Nutrition Tidbit: Breadcrumbs

  • Most packaged breadcrumbs contain trans fat.  Check ingredients for partially hydrogenated oil.  In addition they have an extremely long list of ingredients, with a lot of chemicals and preservatives.
  • It’s easy to make your own with stale bread in the food processor.
  • Or you can buy some healthier brands (Jaclyn’s or Ian’s)
  • I really like Jaclyn’s Italian Seasoned Whole Wheat Bread Crumbs
  • BreadcrumbsThe ingredients are really simple: organic whole wheat flour, organic wheat flour, malted barley extract, sea salt, spices (basil, oregano, thyme), organic brown rice flour, garlic powder, onion powder, yeast, parsley flakes, paprika
  • You can easily buy the unseasoned ones too and add your own salt, pepper and your favorite herbs & spices!
  • Whole wheat versus white will give you some extra fiber, every serving of these breadcrumbs has 4 grams of fiber!  Helping to keep you full longer.
  • Also make sure to check sodium, packaged goods and pre-seasoned products can be very high in sodium, these breadcrumbs have 130 mg per serving which is reasonable.
  • Try breading other things next time – it’s a great way to add a lot of flavor and crunch without frying!
6 Responses

  1. I love baked chicken parm! Yours looks delicious 🙂
    Are your dinners always this low cal? Just wondering…

    • Hi Elina – Keep in mind the nutrition stats are for the chicken alone. In addition I had about 1 1/2 cups spaghetti squash topped with homemade sauce and a large side of kale. Plus I had a small glass of wine. In total my meal probably had 400 calories. That’s on the low side for me, but I really base it on how hungry I am, and I try to fuel myself really well during the day so that I’m not starving for dinner. After dinner last night I wanted something sweet, so I had a homemade mini blueberry muffin, it hit the spot! So with wine & treat, I had about 550 calories.

  2. I. LOVE. Spaghetti. Squash. PERIOD! (:

    The chicken parm looks amazing as well! Italian never disappoints!

    happy humpday!
    Keri
    http://hopskipleap.wordpress.com
    http://operationbreakingglass.wordpress.com

  3. Wow. That chicken looks amazing! Great job 🙂 I’m bookmarking this recipe for a rainy day!

  4. Hi,
    I just found your blog and I absolutely love it. Your dinner looks amazing…I bet it tasted even better. I’m definitely going to be trying this in the near future!

  5. THANK YOU.
    it doesnt have to be boring at all.

    now what would it take to git you here to make that for me?

    Ill keep it NOT BORING and do a dance routine with the Toddler for you whilst you cook!

    Miz.

Leave a Reply

