Baba Ghanoush Recipe

Baba Ghanoush, also spelled Baba Ghannouj or Baba Ghannoug, is an Arabic dip made of roasted eggplant and tahini.  It is incredibly creamy in texture and smoky in flavor.  Baba Ghanoush makes for a tasty appetizer with pita or vegetables.  It can also be used as a spread on sandwiches.

Baba GhanoushIngredients

  • 2 medium eggplants
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • 2 TB tahini (sesame seed paste)
  • 2 TB olive oil
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp salt

Recipe

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  • Wash eggplant and make several slits with a knife on each one
  • Place eggplant on cookie sheet lined with foil & cooking spray
  • Peel garlic cloves and wrap them tightly in aluminum foil
  • Cook eggplant and garlic cloves in oven for approximately 1 hour or until the vegetables are very tender to the touch
  • Slice the eggplant open and place all the flesh and seeds in a food processor
  • Discard the skinEggplant
  • Unwrap the garlic and add to the food processor, along with the remaining ingredients (tahini, olive oil, cumin and salt)
  • Process until smooth
  • Serve and Enjoy!

Cooking Notes

  • Add 1-3 TB lemon juice if you desire (I was out)
  • You can make this without a food processor (I don’t have one).  What you do, is place all the ingredients in a deep bowl and use an immersion blender to process.
  • It is not necessary to roast the garlic.  Personally, I prefer the flavor of roasted garlic to raw.

Nutrition Tidbit: Eggplant

  • Eggplant acts like a sponge and can sop up much more fat than you may think!
  • Eggplant can become saturated with oil, typically when grilled  or sauteed in Asian dishes.
  • Beware of this at restaurants.  Since eggplant is often the star of vegetarian meals, it is not always healthy, and it can be loaded with fat and calories.
  • Chinese Eggplant in Garlic Sauce contains 1,000 calories and 13 grams of saturated fat!  For comparison sake, Szechuan string beans have 600 calories and 6 grams of saturated fat (according to the Center for Science in the Public Interest).
11 Responses

  1. One of my all-time favorite spreads!

  2. I love this stuff. Saving the recipe 🙂 Good tip on the eggplant in garlic sauce at Chinese restaurants. I definitely love the stuff and used to order it because I thought it was healthier. I guess I was wrong 😕

  3. Questio- why would you applaud Kath on KathEats running in this hot weather? It’s dangerous and to me shows an unhealthy addiction to exercise.

    • There are fine lines between being addicted to exercise and being dedicated. It is very easy to point fingers at someone and say they are doing the wrong thing. But unless you are in their situation, you do not know. It’s ok to exercise in the heat, as long as you are aware of how you feel and hydrate and rest appropriately. Without ever meeting Kath, it seems to me that she knows her body well and would listen to what it is telling her to do.

  4. This looks great! Thanks for the easy to follow recipe!

  5. Crazy. Seriously, a walk in this heat is enough.

  6. Hi Eve! I am new to your blog (I found it via Kath’s recommendation to read your post on “Normal Eating”). Anyway, I just wanted to tell you I really enjoy your posts and I especially love the Nutrition Tidbits at the end. Your posts are informative yet easy to read and follow. I look forward to many more!

  7. Mmm I love eggplant! Your posts are always so creative and informative- thank you!

  8. I think the lemon juice is necessary. Once served, you can add olive oil on the top. You can also garnish with fresh mint.

  9. Love the sound of this recipe!! Do you know if it’s possible to make it *without* the tahini?? I don’t have any in the house, but I’m not sure if that’s a necessary ingredient in order to make it. Although I should just pick some up so that I can make this *and* homemade hummus. 😀

    • You could make it without the tahini, but it wouldn’t be baba ghanoush. There are eggplant dips that call for eggplant, onion, garlic, olive oil, seasoning & tomato paste which would be yummy too!

Leave a Reply

