“Eat Weller” – with a Giveaway!

Last night I had the pleasure of dining at The Pump on Pine St in the Financial District.  Adam Eskin, the CEO, and other employees graciously invited a group of dietitians for dinner to see what their restaurant was all about.

My Nutrition Entrepreneurs group, hosts local meetings on a regular basis. It’s a great way for us who mostly work alone, to network, see what each other are up to, and to bounce ideas off one another. The group of dietitians is smart and enthusiastic, and I always leave motivated with lots of new ideas!

The Pump has been around since 1997.  Typically known as a place for body builders and gym rats to go, the menu was completely fat free, mostly takeout, and you felt like you were inside a gym.  A lot of people associated it with bland, health food.  In 2006, it was bought by Adam Eskin.  He revamped it to make it appeal more to the general public.  They improved the taste of the food, without sacrificing nutrition, and even brought an RD on board!  The look of the Pump made a complete 180 and is now a place you would want to sit down and enjoy a meal.

The Pump

At The Pump they claim you can “Eat with no worries.”

The PumpWhen you order, you choose your base (wrap, brown rice, or salad).  Then you add a protein, vegetables/legumes, and fat.

The PumpEverything was very clean and you could taste how fresh the ingredients were.

The FoodMy salad bowl included:

  • marinated chicken breast
  • balsamic marinated portabellos
  • sweet potatoes
  • roma tomatoes with basil
  • grass fed cheddar

Salad

I got balsamic vinaigrette on the side.  The salad was delicious!  In NYC there are TONS of salad bars, but usually I’m disappointed by the lack of freshness and flavor.

The chicken was tender and extremely flavorful.  I loved the balsamic marinated portabellos, they were sliced thinly and had the perfect amount of sweetness from the balsamic marinade.  The mushrooms in combination with the roma tomatoes made the salad!  The tomatoes were perfectly fresh, no mealiness here, and the basil added a nice pop of flavor.  Everyone seemed to like the food.  Next time I want to try the lean braised beef or the bison meatballs on top of brown rice — YUM!

GIVEAWAY

  • The folks at The Pump were kind by giving us some coupons for a FREE PLATE!
  • I will be giving away 3 COUPONS (expire 9/3/09)
  • You must live or work in NYC to enter this contest
  • Leave a comment telling me what you would order at the Pump
  • I will randomly pick 3 winners Friday 8/21 at 5pm
9 Responses

  1. A Nutrition Entrepreneurs group sounds really neat. I bet there are lots of cool opportunities and organizations for RD’s!

    Thank you for your comment on my last post about the fitness assessment. I really aprpeciate your opinion as an RD.

  2. What a great place!! Yum.

  3. Yeesh! I would love to try this place, it is right around the corner from where I live, I just never have stopped by!

    I would order the Baked Falafel pita, with hummus and every veggie they have!

    That, or Bison… I’ve always wanted to try it because I’ve heard it is really lean and nutritious but I don’t see it on many menus…

    I’m usually disappointed with salad bars in NYC too! Such a bummer… I just want something new and they are all the same… every day… every location. BOO!

  4. Whoa this place looks amazing! I’m in Boston, so the coupon won’t help much… but I hope this place sticks around so I can try it out next time I’m in the city!

  5. Eve:
    You described last night’s event cleverly. It was a fun way to network with colleagues, eat well(er), and meet Healthy Yet Delicious Food Entrepreneurs (HYDFE?).
    Great pics too.
    I have just picked up their chicken, lentil and whole wheat pasta dish. Yum!

  6. That salad looks amazing!!

    I wished I lived in NYC to have a chance to win!

  7. Beginning in September I will be working on Madison Ave. so I am thrilled to see that there is a location right on the same street! I would love to go there during my lunch break and pick up a whole wheat wrap with steamed spinach, steamed sweet potato, marinated chicken breast, and roasted tomatoes with basil, and cheese.

  8. I would have the “lean body” with an iced tea for dinner. Or egg white omelette with a fresh squeezed apple juice with ginger! I think the tastes would go well together and i’ve read I should eat more ginger to promote my circulation. I can’t have wheat so I wish they had more options for breakfast but its probably more of a lunch/dinner spot.
    (I work in Tribeca)
    THANKS! Love your blog.

  9. This place looks amazing. I’m always looking to try new healthy places to eat in the city and this is now on my list. I would order the whole wheat wrap with turkey breast, balsamic marinated portabellas, roma tomatoes w/ basil, and guacamole!

Leave a Reply

