Chicken Salad with Grapes & Cranberries

The same salad or sandwich can get quite boring for lunch.  Therefore, I’m always trying to think of new ideas for myself and my clients to keep things interesting while remaining healthy.  This chicken salad pita is great because you get in whole grains, fruit, vegetables and lean protein all at once.

You can make this with leftover rotisserie chicken, which is a great staple to keep in the fridge, since it can be used in so many different ways!

Chicken Salad

Chicken Salad with Grapes & Cranberries:  Serves 1

Ingredients

  • 3 oz chopped chicken breast (no skin)
  • 1 celery rib, chopped
  • 8 grapes, quartered
  • 1 Tablespoon dried cranberries
  • 1 Tablespoon fresh chives, chopped
  • 1 Tablespoon low fat mayonnaise
  • 1 cup fresh spinach
  • 1 whole wheat pita

Method

  • Combine chicken, celery, grapes, cranberries, chives with low fay mayonnaise.
  • Add to whole wheat pita and stuff with fresh spinach leaves.
  • If you are packing lunch in the morning you may want to keep the chicken separate from the pita, to prevent the pita from getting soggy.

Nutritional Information (including a 160 calorie whole wheat pita)

  • 400 calories, 6 grams fat, 1 gram saturated fat, 51 grams carbohydrate, 4 grams fiber and 33 grams protein

For those that need more than 400 calories at lunch time add another component to the lunch.  Some examples include:

  • low fat cheese stick
  • carrots with hummus
  • yogurt with granola
  • small handful of nuts

Nutrition Tidbit: Chicken Salad

  • If you enjoy chicken salad, I recommend you make your own to prevent consuming much more calories and fat than you might expect.
  • 1 cup regular chicken salad provides: 416 calories, 28 grams fat, 7 grams saturated fat, 15 grams carbohydrate and 24 grams protein.
6 Responses

  1. Thank you so much for the offer to answer any questions I might have during my search for internships and jobs in the coming year! 😀 There’s so much that needs to get done in such a short amount of time, that I’m sure I’ll be asking a question or two along the way. 😀

    I love this recipe idea! You’re right, sometimes the same old sandwich can get tiring after a while, and I never would have thought about adding grapes to the mix. Love it! I’m trying this for sure. 😀

  2. You know, I always thought I was a pretty healthy eater who had a relatively good handle on nutrition and how many calories were in meals I was consuming regularly, but to my surprise I have often found myself shocked at the calorie count of recipes you’ve provided. For example, I always thought a chicken salad sandwich (one of my favs) clocked in around 300 cals. Thanks for the informative posts!

    • Chicken salad sandwiches will vary in calories depending on how much mayo they use. But remember 2 slices of bread alone with have at least 160 calories (two slices of thin bread). Add in the chicken salad and you’re probably at 500 or more depending on how much they put in.

  3. Great recipe! thanks for the nutrition stats as well.

  4. This looks delicious! I’m not a big sandwich eater, but I love creative chicken salads – never indulge when I’m out b/c of the high cal./high fat issue. Another great thing to do is to add curry powder to a recipe like this. I’d omit the chives if I were doing that.

    I might try this this week – thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

