Portable Breakfast

This Labor Day weekend, my husband and I decided to take a trip to Boston.  Why not enjoy another great city, walk around, and enjoy some good food?

We left Friday on an early morning Amtrak train.  Since I knew the Penn Station options would leave my breakfast choices to bagels and pastries, I figured packing my own would be smart.

Train BreakfastI packed a vanilla chobani yogurt, 1/3 cup trader joe’s muesli, and a pear.  I did pick up an iced coffee from Zaro’s for my caffeine fix.  I ate the yogurt & cereal around 7:30 and the pear around 10:30.  This held me really well until our lunch.

Sunday morning we took the train home from the South Station.  Unfortunately I did not have time to pick up food ahead of time, so I was left to the train station options.

Au Bon PainThe bagels & pastries were front and center.  But they did have some other healthier options: fruit, yogurt, nuts, and after I ordered I saw oatmeal!  I wasn’t that hungry – so I settled on a large soy latte (for protein) and a large cup of fruit.  I had a luna bar in my bag and figured I would have that a few hours in to the train ride (which I did!).  The fruit cup was a mixture of honeydew, cantaloupe, watermelon and grapes, it really hit the spot.

Coffee & Fruit

Nutrition Tidbit: Breakfast while Traveling

  • When you can – pack it yourself!
  • Some foods that travel well are: yogurt, cereal, whole wheat english muffin with peanut butter, fruit and trail mix.
  • If you must buy at the airport or train station you do not have to succumb to treats you wouldn’t normally have, think: bacon, egg & cheese on a croissant (that was available at Au Bon Pain).
  • To make a complete breakfast look for a whole grain (whole wheat bagel, whole wheat toast, oatmeal, cereal), lean protein (peanut butter, eggs, yogurt, milk), and fruit.
  • If you get an egg sandwich, ask for the bread dry (to prevent them buttering it), opt for canadian bacon instead of regular, and skip the cheese if you’re having the yolk.
  • Be wary with the yogurt parfaits – a lot of the time they are brimming with sugar.  Ask if any of them are made with plain low fat or fat free yogurts and only use a little granola, on average 1/4 cup = 150 calories.
11 Responses

  1. Great Article! I am going to tweet this.

    I often find my self using the excuse that since I will be running through the airport I will work off the food. I always regret it when that akwardly full feeling sets in.

  2. Awesome packs! 🙂

  3. I like your packed breakfast better than other options! I would usually get a parfait from Starbucks…it doesn’t happen often (ie, once a year!) so I figure it would be worse…

  4. […] NutritionbyEve posted a great article about portable breakfast. Where was this before my […]

  5. I can’t bring myself to get parfaits from cafes because I’ve come to love the way I make my own too much! Plus, I hate not knowing what kind of yogurt and granola they use… The fresh fruit seems like it was the best option! Great post

    Sarah @ Thefoodiediaries.wordpress.com

  6. Helpful post! I used to HATE it when my parents would pack us food on a trip like that – now I do it all the time and my daughter (6) seems to prefer it, actually! For the plane, yogurt’s not an option (it’s a “gel” – !) so I always make sure we have a bag of trail mix, apples, cheese sticks, etc. I always have the little Trader Joe’s bran muffins (80 or 100 cal. per muffin/12 g. fiber) in the freezer – pop a couple of those in a baggie and they’re thawed and ready to eat an hour later – SO much better for us than a bacon, egg & cheese!

  7. I always find it so hard to eat while traveling, especially being a vegetarian. Breakfast is usually the easiest (because fruit and yogurt are usually easy to find) but lunch and dinners are the hardest.

  8. I feel anxious sometimes when I travel, not knowing what my options will be. I’m going to Chicago next week and plan to re-read this post before my trip so I’m prepared to bring my healthy eating with me. Thanks for the tips!

    I saw on my blog that you like the 100 cal popcorn packs and I was wondering…I know that 100 cal packs are usually highly processed and not always “real” food. How do the 100 cal popcorn packs score? Are they an acceptable choice for my clean eating goal? I know it’s corn, but are there a lot of perservatives?

    • I like the 100 calorie popcorn packs. You’re right, they do have some preservatives. However, they are are whole grain, provide fiber, are low in fat and sodium, and they are delicious! Popcorn is a great snack since it’s provides a large volume and makes you feel like you are eating a lot. It’s also a good alternative to movie theater popcorn, which I always tell my clients to avoid and come with your own snack. So all in all the benefits outweigh the negatives, if you are striving for a 100% clean diet, then yes I would avoid it, but in my opinion this snack eaten once in a while combined with an otherwise healthful diet is fine.

  9. First of all, I am so jealous you are able to hop on a train to Boston.

    Chobani yogurt is my new favorite thing. I use Greek yogurt a lot in my cooking too, mostly as a substitute for sour cream. This is a great post because breakfast on the go can definitely be a disaster and can leave you feeling crummy afterward.

  10. […] know breakfast is the most important meal of the day.  I’ve spoken about oatmeal to go here, portable breakfasts here and navigating european breakfasts […]

Leave a Reply

