Blackened Tilapia

Easy weekday night meals are always on my mind for me and my clients!  Clients often complain to me that their fish is always bland, and they don’t know how to make it flavorful.  All I can tell you is that blackened fish is so tasty!  This meal is incredibly simple and takes less than 15 minutes – gotta love that.

I present to you: Blacked Tilapia with Coleslaw & Brown Rice

Blackened TilapiaBlackened Tilapia

I used this recipe from All Recipes for Blackened Tilapia, however, I cut back on the salt (1/4 tsp for 4 servings is plenty), and I left out on the white bread.

You simply make the blackening mixture (paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, pepper, cayenne, oregano, thyme, celery seed and salt).  Rub the seasoning on the fish and sauté each fish fillet in 1 tsp vegetable oil for approximately 2-3 minutes per side.

Sweet & Sour Coleslaw

I used a recipe from cooking light for the coleslaw, that was really amazing!  I added in green pepper and tomatoes to pump up the vegetable content.

Brown Rice

Since brown rice can take a long time to cook, it’s nice to have some ready made ones for the evenings you want dinner in a snap.  This packet of pre-cooked Seeds of Change brown rice was the perfect solution.  Kashi and Seeds of Change make lots of great ready made rice that you reheat in your microwave; they are full of fiber and make a perfect side dish to a quick dinner.

Brown Rice

Nutrition Tidbit:  Easy Dinners

  • When making a complete dinner at home – strive for 3 components:  lean protein, high-fiber carbohydrate, and vegetables.  This will ensure you have a balanced meal.
  • For the protein you can try chicken breast, fish, lean beef or even tofu.
  • For the carbohydrate try a sweet potato, brown rice or quinoa.
  • Don’t forget the vegetables!  Fresh or frozen are both great options.
3 Responses

  1. Your coleslaw looks good, I am always looking for versions without “cream” as my husband hates it…..anything dairy for that matter (has since he was a kid)! I have used this Amish Recipe in the past that was really good but had a bit to much sugar for me. I think I will give Cooking Light’s a try, I really like their magazine. =) Laura

    http://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/

  2. Looks great. For people who do not like fish, tilapia is a great way to go. It has such a mild flavor that it picks up the taste of whatever it is cooked in (much like tofu) so I often recommend it to clients. And it is inexpensive. I love blackened fish too, so this is great.

  3. A great looking menu! I’m going to try out the whole thing – delighted the slaw has no mayo – my husband can’t stand it and while I love it, it adds a lot of cals.

Leave a Reply

