Kashi Does it Again!

All my clients know how much I love Kashi products (and no I am not paid by them!).  I really enjoy their cereal, granola bars, pilaf, and frozen meals.  Whenever I see a new Kashi product on the shelves you know I’m going to try it out!

I recently noticed two new types of frozen meals, and quickly added them to my shopping cart.  While I don’t like to rely on frozen meals they are great in a pinch.  Kashi is better than a lot of brands out there, since the ingredient list is better, the sodium is more reasonable, the fiber is generally high, and there are usually vegetables!

Veggie Chana Masala

Indian

Red Curry Chicken

Curry

Let’s first talk about the Veggie Chana Masala:

Chana Masala

Kashi describes it as:  “Chickpeas, red peppers, fire-roasted eggplant, carrots & edamame. Served over Kashi 7 Whole Grains & Sesame® pilaf and topped with zesty Garam Masala sauce.”

If you enjoy Indian flavored foods, you will love this!  At least I did.  It was incredibly flavorful and wholesome.  I loved all the chickpeas, the chewiness from the kashi pilaf, and the slight creaminess from the coconut there must have only been a little.

This dish clocks in at 310 calories, 9 grams fat (1.5 grams saturated fat), 44 grams carbohydrate, 8 grams fiber, 11 grams protein, and 690 mg sodium.   Pretty good for a vegetarian frozen meal.

310 calories is a bit low for a meal, so I would recommend adding something to it.  Depending on your calorie needs you may need one or more than one of the following:

  • side salad
  • fruit
  • yogurt
  • whole wheat naan

Next up: Red Curry Chicken

Curry ChickenKashi describes this one as:  “Chicken breast with fire-roasted sweet potato, bok choy, red peppers, bamboo shoots & kale. Served over Kashi 7 Whole Grains & Sesame® pilaf and topped with zesty Thai red curry sauce.”

I enjoyed the Indian Chana Masala more than this one, but if you love Thai Curries I’m sure you will enjoy this.  There are strong flavors from the coconut, curry, ginger, and lemongrass.  If you don’t like ginger I wouldn’t try this!  Vegetables were a little lacking in my opinion, and it seemed smaller than other frozen meals to me, so I would definitely add a side of vegetables.  All in all this makes a good alternative to take out thai curry!

This dish contains 300 calories, 9 grams fat (3.5 grams saturated fat), 40 grams carbohydrate, 5 grams fiber, 18 grams protein, and 490 mg sodium.  As you see saturated fat is a little higher due to the coconut milk, but I can assure you a takeout meal with coconut milk would be much higher in saturated fat!  The sodium is surprising low for a frozen meal.  Even though the meal appeared small to me, the 18 grams of protein filled me right up and I was surprised by how long it kept me full.

To this meal I would add one or more than one of the following:

  • steamed vegetables
  • papaya salad
  • extra brown rice (if you require more carbohydrates)
  • fruit salad for dessert

Have you tried these Kashi meals before?  Did you like them?

6 Responses

  1. Oooh, Chana Masala is my favorite Indian dish!!

    Cant’ have Kashi meals – they all contain wheat and/or soy 😦

  2. I had have the Lemongrass Coconut Chicken and the Chicken Florentine! They were both delicious and great if you are in a bind for a quick meal!

  3. The chana masala looks awesome. I’ve had 1 of their meals once a few years ago (most of them have onions which I hate, so I tried the only one that doesn’t). It was a little different, but overall good. I haven’t bought a frozen meal in ages. You’re right, maybe it’s good to keep a few on hand for a meal in a pinch! 🙂

  4. I love those Kashi dinners. So good. I remember one time they were super cheap at the Nellis AFB commissary so I stocked up. i love a good deal.

  5. I need to try Kashi dinners, I know the pizza is good but I have never tried the dinners. Plan to now. =) Laura

    http://findingahealthybalance.wordpress.com/

  6. Heyy! I just came across your blog and I love reading it! I can’t wait to follow it!
    I woul love it if you could check out my new blog and follow!!
    Jenna

Leave a Reply

