Amazing Chocolate Biscotti!

I love chocolate, and there’s nothing wrong with indulging in some now and then.  I prefer having a small portion of the real thing, than larger portions of artificially sweetened “light” chocolaty foods.  The key to making this work is your portion size!

It’s a good idea to keep a limited amount of sweet treats at home; otherwise you may be tempted by all of them on any given day.  So have one or two choices for when your sweet tooth kicks in.

I recently tried Trader Joe’s mini chocolate hazelnut biscotti and they were absolutely incredible: slightly soft with a rich chocolaty taste and an abundance of crunchy hazelnuts.

biscotti

The ingredient list proves to be short and natural: enriched flour, cane sugar, eggs, butter, hazelnuts, dutch cocoa, chocolate chips, baking powder, and natural vanilla flavor.

Sounds like a recipe list I would use to bake myself.  This is the reason it’s so satisfying!

3 mini biscotti provide: 140 calories, 6 grams fat, 2.5 grams saturated fat, 19 grams carbohydrate, 1 gram fiber, 2 grams protein.

Even though these are really small, I was usually able to limit my portion size to two at a time.  This serving size was perfect and left my sweet tooth satisfied!

chocolate biscotti

Do you have a favorite sweet treat?

7 Responses

  1. My favorite sweet treat = Theo chocolate bars.

  2. I am undeniably obsessed with anything peanut butter cup, especially dark chocolate pb cups. I’ve tried multiple peanut-chocolate substitutes, but nothing compares.

  3. I love the dark chocolate edamame from Trader Joe’s. Crunchy and sweet. Yum! Can’t wait to try out this biscotti.

  4. These sound delicious! Only 2, really? Man, I wish I had this kind of will power.
    Anne, I send the chocolate covered edamame. Yum!!! 😀

  5. Those sound really yummy! I love biscotti. I usually keep a Lindt Chili Dark Chocolate bar in the house, so when I have a chocolate craving I can just have a square of that.

  6. […] be for me or the baby.  After lunch I’ve been snacking on things like meringue cookies and biscotti, and sure while they’re “healthier” cookies it’s too much if i’m also […]

  7. I love these! I tasted the sample they were giving a few days ago but was able to refrain. Of course this morning they had them out again and I fell victim; had to buy a canister. They are soooo yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

