Peanut Butter & Jelly Larabar

Bars.  There are so many out there how do you choose which ones to buy?  Do you look at the sugar, the protein, the carbs, the ingredient list?   When you start analyzing each ingredient list sometimes they look a little scary with so many ingredients and sugar alcohols and other weird names you may not have heard of.

Enter the larabar.

Larabar

Larabar’s philosophy is: Simple, Pure, Delicious.

What I love most about the larabar is the short ingredient list, and everything is in its whole state.  There are no additives or preservatives here.   Yes as a result the protein is lower than other bars, but I find these bars keep me just as full as the other higher protein bars.  Maybe it’s all the natural fiber or healthy fat, either way they’re a perfect snack.  I usually consider them “portion controlled trail mix.”

Larabar

Peanut Butter & Jelly Larabar – this is a new flavor and it totally blew me away!  It was amazing! I promise Larabar is not paying me to write this.  It really tastes like you have a spoonful of peanut butter and fresh jam in your mouth together at one time.  And guess what, they accomplish this with 4 ingredients:

Dates, Peanuts, Unsweetened Cherries, Salt

The nutritional facts are: 210 calories, 10 grams fat, 2 grams saturated fat, 27 gram carbohydrate, 4 grams fiber, 6 grams protein.

I always recommend whole food over processed food, and even though larabars are packaged they are real food.

So if you’re getting bored by your current snacks, try the PB&J Larabar, I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Have you tried the PB&J Larabar yet?  What did you think?

13 Responses

  1. Haven’t tried it since I don’t eat peanuts; but I love Larabars in general! 🙂

  2. I actually had my first one yesterday! I bought two hoping they’d be wonderful, and they were. The flavor was dead on pb&j. I’d had other Larabar flavors before and they were great, but this one was the closest to the taste they were going for. I loved it.

  3. i tried it! it’snot bad. but i love the coconut ones better. i like the peanuts in it and the cherry chunks. tastes real good microwvaed 30 seconds

  4. I have tried it. And I really liked it. But the the chocolate coconut, coconut cream pie and key lime pie still are my faves 🙂

    Love larabars.

  5. Didn’t see that flavor yesterday when I was at the store. Thanks for the review, I will have to check that out while I am visiting in the States.

  6. I bought a few the other day and I LOVE them too! Especially like the ingredients list. Such a perfect snack. I try to only eat 1/2 for a snack but it’s really hard. I wish they had the minis in all the flavors 🙂

  7. Sounds amazing- I’ve been on the lookout for this bar and haven’t found it yet sadly!

  8. I’ve tried PB&J, and while I think it’s good, the (also new) Tropical Fruit Tart knocked my socks off! I never thought about microwaving the Larabar, as another commenter recommended . . . that could be a genius idea!

  9. I loved the PBJ Lara! It’s definitely my favourite… I posted a couple of days ago about ingredients/health foods and my thoughts on them. It’s a confusing issue for a lot of us… I love the Lara philosophy, but for some reason these bars don’t keep me full at ALL. I need higher protein snacks…

  10. I love Larabars. I got a free PB&J bar from the company and it was good. I liked the combination of PB and the cherry. I haven’t seen them in the stores here yet. My favorite (I can’t buy more than one at a time because I’ll eat them all) is Coconut Cream Pie.

  11. I haven’t tried these yet, but I will definitely have to pick some up next time I am at the store. Thanks for the rec.

  12. I just had the Peanut Butter Cookie today, and it was so delicious! This must taste as good! Or is it (gasp) better?


    Maggie
    🙂

  13. I’m not the hugest fan of Larabars but they’re okay. I’d rather have a South Beach Cereal bars that are less calories and have more protein and essential vitamins. I’ve tried the coconut cream pie, which was good, but thought the cherry pie one to be gross.

Leave a Reply

