Can You Overeat Fruit?

I hear these phrases all the time:

“I don’t eat fruit because it’s high in sugar.”

“Bananas are fattening.”

Do you avoid fruit for any of these reasons?  Well if you do, you should think again!  Fruit is an important part of a well balanced healthy diet.  Fruit provides vitamins, minerals, antioxidants, phytochemicals and fiber.  Yes it does contain sugar, but it’s the natural kind (unless you’re having canned fruit in syrup or fruit juice with added sugar).

Since fruit does not contain any protein it may not keep you very full for long.  It’s wise to add a protein source when you consume fruit to increase satiety.  Instead of eating only an apple as an afternoon snack add some nuts and you will feel much more satisfied.

So the real question now is: “Can you overeat fruit?”

The answer to this is: YES.

Anything consumed in large portions could lead to weight gain if your calorie intake exceeds your calorie expenditure.  If you’re eating too much fruit, it may be displacing other foods such as: vegetables, dairy, whole grains, protein, and fats.  With anything it’s important to have balance and moderation in your diet.

So how much should you be eating?

Approximately 2-5 servings each day, depending on your calorie needs.

What counts as one serving?

  • 1 cup of fruit
  • 1 cup 100% fruit juice
  • 1/2 cup dried fruit

What’s in one serving?

  • On average a serving of fruit has 60 calories, 15 grams carbohydrate, 0 grams fat, and 0 grams protein.
  • The fiber, vitamin, and mineral content varies widely from fruit to fruit.

So are bananas fattening?

  • NO!
  • As you can see fruit has zero grams fat (avocados are the one exception).
  • They do contain more calories.
  • 1/2 banana is generally considered a serving.
  • Eat your bananas they contain lots of healthy nutrients!
7 Responses

  1. This is great! i hear that all the time too! thanks for writing it so clear and for informing people! great great post!!

  2. I hear ya on that! Watermelon has too much sugar, that’s my favorite. Last I checked it was the same per portion as the rest of them. Maybe if you eat the whole water melon, but not a slice/1 cup portion. Too much of anything, even a good thing, is too much!

  3. Some days I think I eat too much fruit, but overall you’re right – it’s all about balance so the next day I usually bulk up on veggies!

  4. I love this post! I’ve had several friends who struggled with eating issues and swore off bananas–so I know exactly what worries you’re referring to in this post. I think it’s pretty hard to overdo fruit if you have a healthy, balanced approach to eating with a focus on moderation. It’s understandable that people following regimented diets need to watch their servings because of calorie restrictions–but, in general, fruit is such a simple snacking staple!

  5. Yes, thank you! Great post I hear this too. One person I knew was eating 7 nectarines per day and then wondering why their TG were through the roof. Moderation is key 🙂

  6. You can eat as much fruit as you want, provided you eat a diet free of cooked food. I often up to 30 pieces of fruit in a day, as well as my greens.

    • HI Steve
      It’s been more than 8 months since you posted the above message. How do you feel? What are the changes? Yes, I’m asking becos I’m curious and I’m thinking of changing my diet to a 70% (fruit & vegetables diet vs. 30% meat (fish, pork, lamb, beef etc) it will be interesting to know 😉
      Don

Leave a Reply

