FNCE Day #4

Monday morning I woke up with some extra time to spare before heading to the conference.  So I decided to make my breakfast out of the swag I got at the conference the day before:

Breakfast

I had a chocolate vitamuffin topped with a packet of Barney Butter (almond butter) and a packet of dried plums (4 in the packet).  While the breakfast tasted good, it was a bit too sweet for me and would have been better as an afternoon snack.  When I left the hotel I got a medium soy latte to pump up the protein content of my meal:

Latte

I covered all the nutritional components: fiber (vitamuffin & dried fruit), protein (soy milk & almond butter), and healthy fat (almond butter).

The breakfast held me over really well.  Lunch was eaten again at the expo 🙂  I tried to have different foods than the day before – it’s always fun trying new food products!!  And there were tons to try.

In the afternoon I went to two fantastic sessions, the first was blogging & beyond and the second was treatment techniques for eating disorder patients.  I learned a lot during these two sessions.

After these sessions I went to more NE specialty group meetings.  The first was the Author’s meeting and the second was the Internet & Business Technology meeting.  These were some of the most useful sessions.

After the sessions, I met up with my roommate Pam, her brother, and his girlfriend for dinner.  We were staying with them that evening, and leaving the next morning.  The group chose the steakhouse: Capital Grille.  They all love the calamari there so that was the appetizer for the table.  It had spicy peppers in it, and was really delicious!

Here’s my portion, plus I took a little more 🙂

calamari

For my entree, I decided to have steak, especially since I had fish the last few nights and we were at a steakhouse.  However, I was disappointed they didn’t have a petite filet on the menu.  The normal filet mignon was 10 ounces, I asked Pam if she wanted to share and she was very pleased to do so.  The table also ordered steamed asparagus and mashed potatoes.  Here’s my plate:Dinner

We decided to order 2 desserts to take home: cheescake and coconut pie.  I had a small sliver of each when we got back to their house (sorry forgot the photo!).

I felt good about my choices on this day, obviously it’s a little different than I eat normally.  But I made good decisions, and enjoyed all my food!

Nutrition Tidbit:  Steakhouses

  • Start with a house salad, with the dressing on the side to take the edge off your hunger.
  • Choose one thing to splurge on: fried calamari, mashed potatoes, potatoes au gratin, bacon or creamed spinach.  If you are having more than one, make sure to keep portions small.
  • The portions of meat are too large, opt for a lean cut such as a filet mignon and share with a friend!
  • Aim for 4-6 ounces during the meal.
  • Load up on a healthy green vegetable such as steamed asparagus or spinach to bulk up the meal.
3 Responses

  1. That’s great advice for when you find yourself going to a steakhouse.. it’s always hard (unless you don’t eat meat of course) to pass up a fancy, steak dinner, so I am glad to see your realistic advice here, as always.
    -Joelle (The Pancake Girl)
    http://www.joelygolightly.wordpress.com

  2. Do you struggle to make healthy choices too or is it second nature for you? I wonder if an RD’s brain is wired differently or if you just have a louder “sane” voice reminding you of why some choices are more important than others, and that helps you despite temptations. 🙂

    • I’m a normal person, of course I struggle! I always keep my goals in mind, and decide if it’s truly worth it or not. I try to make the best decision I can at all times, but I’m not perfect!

Leave a Reply

