Nutrition Day

For those who may not know, today is Nutrition Day!  In light of the day, I thought it would be good to pose a challenge to all of you readers.  When I think of Nutrition, I think of all the foods I should be including in my diet, rather than those I should be excluding – this way of thinking will help you stick to long term changes.

Today I want you to try to incorporate a fruit or vegetable with every meal and snack that you eat.  Try to vary them up as much as possible too!

Here’s a photo of the fruits I’m eating today (not the entire pomegranate)

fruit

Here’s my plan for the day:

Pre-workout: half banana

Breakfast: oatmeal made with the other half of the banana

Lunch: homemade butternut squash soup & sandwich with spinach

Snack: greek yogurt with pomegranate arils

Dinner: Salad made with organic greens, carrots, radishes & roasted beets.  Not sure what the main component of the meal will be yet!

Dessert: apple (working down my 25 pound supply from apple picking!)

This day looks colorful to me – 3 fruits & 6 vegetables.

Here’s a photo of my oatmeal with the banana “melted in” topped with natural Peanut Butter

oatmeal

What fruits & vegetables will you be consuming today?

7 Responses

  1. my everyday fruit is always banana and apples. A salad for lunch (carrots, romaine, cucumbers) and brussel sprouts plus some Asian greens. My office is having bagels today and they’re smelling quite good. 🙂

  2. I should get myself back to work since I did not know today was nutrition day and I’m and RD. Shame on me. I wonder why we never celebrated this at the hospital.

    As for fruits and veggies, just had some apricots (dried) and strawberries, probably a kiwi later since I just bought a bunch, and dinner we are going for Indian food so I know I will order a few veggie dishes there.

  3. I didn’t know there was a nutrition day! That’s great. Happy nutrition day!

    Fruits I will eat today – well I was just planning on making a smoothie with mangos, papayas and a banana!

    I have a leftover veggies from last night for lunch and I’m planning on making a sweet potato dinner (maybe a soup!)

    Have a great day!

  4. […] Did you know today was “Nutrition Day”? […]

  5. Nutrition day! Fun!

    For breakfast, I had a small banana with my oatmeal.
    Mid-morning snack was a large Mutzo apple – yum! Need to get some veggies in at lunch and dinner.

  6. I love that first paragraph. I love junk food way too much to properly give it up, but I have been thinking lately about how I should strive to just throw some extra vegetables in amidst my burgers and cake. It’s the little steps, right?

  7. But, isn’t every day nutrition day? : ) I’m all done eating for today, and I had blueberries, apples, butternut squash, acorn squash, califlower, watermelon and swiss chard. Oh, and 2 baby carrots leftover from my daughter’s lunch. I’m picking up my CSA share on Saturday, so I should be getting a crazy variety of fruit & veggie goodies to sample in the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

