Overdoing Nuts

Yesterday I spoke about nut butter, and how it’s a great healthy alternative to butter and cream cheese as a spread.

While nuts are very healthy it’s important not to forget their high fat levels.  Yes it is healthy fat, but too much healthy fat is not good!  It is very easy to eat too many nuts at one time and to polish off a container in one seating.  See below for how many nuts are in one serving.

Source

Nutrition Information for 1 ounce of Nuts

  • Almonds (20 – 24 nuts): 160 calories, 14 grams fat, 6 grams protein
  • Brazil Nuts (6 – 8 nuts): 190 calories, 19 grams fat, 4 grams protein
  • Cashews (16 – 18 nuts): 160 calories, 14 grams fat, 4 grams protein
  • Hazelnuts (18 – 20 nuts): 180 calories, 17 grams fat, 4 grams protein
  • Macadamia (10 – 12 nuts): 200 calories, 22 grams fat, 2 grams protein
  • Peanuts (28 nuts): 170 calories, 14 grams fat, 7 grams protein
  • Pecans (18 – 20 halves): 200 calories, 20 grams fat, 3 grams protein
  • Pine Nuts (150 – 157 nuts): 160 calories, 14 grams fat, 7 grams protein
  • Pistachios (45 – 47 nuts): 160 calories, 13 grams fat, 6 grams protein
  • Walnuts (14 halves): 190 calories, 18 grams fat, 4 grams protein

The next time you want to snack on some nuts, portion out the proper serving and do not eat out of the container!!

What’s your favorite nut?  And do you have trouble with portion size? My favorites are almonds, peanuts and pistachios – I especially love how many pistachios you can eat for one serving and they take longer to go through since you have to open all the shells!

4 Responses

  1. I love almonds, pecans, hazelnuts, walnuts, brazil nuts… haven’t really met a nut I don’t like 😀

  2. I have huge problems with portion size of nuts. I just can’t get enough – the roasted kind is especially addictive! I’m an all-nut lover 😀

    • Warning a food addict to watch every bite doesn’t work. I love nuts so I buy whole nuts and grind them up to sprinkle on or with food. If the whole huts are available I’ll eat them. Lots of research on obesity none of which advises limiting food, which we all know doesn’t work. better to change food gradually. If I have it I eat it; but in 6 months I lost 30lbs. Fortunately almost every real food, and a few processed, I like. A few rules. I don’t eat sugar. I don’t eat three meals, just whenever I want. I don’t eat processed food. I try to limit calories to 2,000, but it’s a goal and I forgive myself if I go over it. this has stopped my loss-gain roller coaster but I’ll never be a normal weight.

  3. […] healthy fat.  Want to know how many nuts are in one serving?  Then don’t miss my post on overdoing nuts.Try a small handful of almonds with a piece of fruit for an afternoon snack, or a bowl of plain […]

Leave a Reply

