Chicken Stuffed with Goat Cheese & Sun Dried Tomatoes

Try this recipe tonight and I promise you will not be disappointed!  It has 5 ingredients and is quick to make.  My husband yummed throughout the meal and said “I would pay for this at a restaurant” – he’s a very tough critic so that meant a lot!

Chicken Stuffed with Goat Cheese & Sun Dried Tomatoes

Serves: 4

Ingredients

  • 4- 4 ounce chicken breasts, thinly sliced (I buy the Murray’s thinly sliced one to minimize the work).
  • 4 sun dried tomatoes packed in oil, drained (you can use the dry ones but make sure to rehydrate with boiling water first)
  • 2 ounces herbed goat cheese
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat panko breadcrumbs
  • salt & pepper to tast

Method

  1. Heat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Prepare 2 ounces of goat cheese in one small bowl, set aside.
  3. Finely chop the sun dried tomatoes, combine with goat cheese, set aside.
  4. Crack egg, and place egg white in a small bowl, set aside.
  5. Place breadcrumbs in a small dish, set aside.
  6. Place the chicken breasts on your working surface, sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  7. Add 1/4 of the tomato cheese mixture in the middle of each breast, then roll and secure with a toothpick (I didn’t have tooth picks so mine opened a bit).
  8. Dip each rolled chicken breast in egg whites and then breadcrumbs.
  9. Place on dish prepared with cooking spray.  Do not crowd the breasts, otherwise they will take longer to cook.
  10. Cook for approximately 20 minutes, check for doneness (oven temperatures and cooking times may vary).

Nutrition Information: (per breast, 4 servings)

  • 204 calories, 8 grams fat, 4 grams saturated fat, 5 grams carbohydrate, 29 grams protein

I served mine with a side of roasted sweet potatoes and roasted cauliflower – yum!

6 Responses

  1. My kind of recipe! I usually have goat cheese in the fridge . . . wish I did now – I’d make these tonight!

  2. Mmm…this sounds terrific! I think my entire family would appreciate this meal. It looks gourmet and sounds so healthy—a perfect combination. 😀

  3. Oh, this looks great! Do you have some basic instructions on roasting your sweet potatos and cauliflower. I am such a bad cook, I can never get them to come out right. Thank you!

    • Hi Madison. Keep the different types of vegetables separate since they will have different cooking times. When you become more experienced you will start to know how long each one takes and combine them when appropriate. Cut the vegetables into uniform size pieces, then drizzle olive oil, salt and pepper and other herbs or spices if you like. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line cookie sheet with aluminum foil coated with cooking spray. After about 15 minutes check vegetables, toss, and put back in oven. Continue checking at 10 minute intervals until they are cooked to desired tenderness. Good luck!

  4. Hi Eve! I am a big fan of yours! I first found you on facebook. I tried this recipe and loved it. Even y boyfriend was a fan. Thanks for all of the great ideas.

  5. Eve,

    My wife (WashU 02) found your website, and I’m glad she did. I tried this recipe tonight, and it was great and easy! Two thoughts:
    1. This one’s more for the others: the goat cheese needs to be out of the refrigerator for a bit before cooking so it’s softer and easier to mix with the tomatoes.
    2. I’d like to be able to have the breading be more of a golden brown color when it’s cooked and not so dry. How do I do this? Would an egg wash on top do the job? Other thoughts?

    If you want to change up the filling for variety, there’s a great place out east on the North Fork called Catapano Dairy with all different flavored goat cheeses that they make on premises (no connection with them other than that I like them).

Leave a Reply

