A Chocolatey Treat

I’m a firm believer in listening to your body’s cravings and satisfying them with something healthy that will fulfill the craving.  Clients of mine are always asking for healthier chocolate options when their cravings hit.  Finding a natural, nutritious option is always a challenge.

Well, I’ve just come up with a great option for that sweet tooth.  The Jocolat Chocolate Hazelnut Bar by Larabar.  I have tried Jocolat bars in the past, and was never very impressed.  However, I decided to give this flavor a whirl, and guess what I LOVED it!

Source

The ingredients are: organic dates, organic hazelnuts, organic almonds, organic cocoa powder, and organic cocoa mass

The nutrition facts are: 190 calories, 10 grams fat, 2 grams saturated fat, 26 grams carbohydrate, 5 grams fiber, and 4 grams protein.  Providing 10% vitamin E, 10% phosphorus, 15% magnesium, and 15% copper.

This bar provides stellar nutrition while yielding a fabulous taste.  A chocolate product with only 2 grams of saturated fat?  And a filling 5 grams of fiber?  Count me in!

Have you tried this product before?  Do you have a favorite nutritious chocolatey treat?

Please note: The Larabar company did not pay me to write this.

4 Responses

  1. This is really a good find….Thanks!

  2. I’ve tried these before and keep going back and forth about whether I like them. I think they are kind of funky but the taste grows on you. I enjoy them when I’m in the right mood for them but most of the time they can’t truly satisfy my chocolate craving. I need something RICH. 🙂
    Happy holidays!

  3. 5 grams of fiber in a single bar? Now that’s an almost impossible find, especially in Malaysia. I’ll do a good search around…

  4. I’ve never tried this particular flavor, but I *love* the peanut butter cookie larabars. They taste exactly like a no-bake peanut butter cookie. 😀

    Usually for chocolate, I’ll just go with a small peice of the real deal. I find it’s the only thing that completely satsifies me. But I love the looks of the nutrition stats for this bar, so I’m definitely going to give it a whirl! 😀

Leave a Reply

