Roasted Brussels Sprouts

I know what you’re probably thinking, brussels sprouts?!  I hate them!  Well before you put your nose up, try making them one more time, this time roasting them.  I promise you, they will taste like a completely different vegetable from when you had them growing up.

Roasting vegetables brings out their natural sweetness, and makes them less bitter.  During the process your brussels sprouts will brown, crisp and caramelize turning them into something absolutely delicious!

Method

  • Preheat oven to 400°.
  • Line cookie sheet with aluminum foil prepared with cooking spray.
  • Wash brussels sprouts, remove stem area and slice in half.
  • If you’re watching your calories and fat, simply spray cooking spray on the vegetables.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  You can also drizzle a couple teaspoons of olive oil if you prefer.
  • Roast in oven for approximately 25 minutes.  If you have a convention oven you will not need to flip, if your oven is not convention check after 15 minutes and flip sprouts.  Oven temperatures and times will vary.

For each cup of raw brussels sprouts used the nutrition facts are: 40 calories, 0 grams fat, 8 grams carbohydrate, 3 grams fiber, and 3 grams of protein.

For each teaspoon of oil used you will add 40 calories and 4.5 grams fat.

Nutrition Tidbit:

  • Brussels Sprouts are in the cabbage family and are at their peak from fall to early spring.
  • This vegetable is a nutrition powerhouse!
  • Brussels sprouts are an excellent source of vitamin K and vitamin C.
  • These vegetables are a good source of folate, vitamin A, manganese, fiber, potassium, vitamin B6 and vitamin B1 (thiamin).
  • Brussels sprouts are also rich in the phytochemical, sulforaphane, which has been shown to have a protective effect against the growth of certain cancers.

Do you like brussels sprouts?

5 Responses

  1. Love. them. I had never tried brussels until this year and I’ve fallen in love. Even my meat-loving boyfriend loves them. Our favorite recipe is from Shape magazine and it’s for mustard braised brussel sprouts. You should try it sometime!!!

  2. Hehe, I just finished a salad with some roasted brussels sprouts. I actually don’t enjoy them roasted. The best recipe is from 101 cookbooks. You make the on the stove top and finish with a little parmesan cheese. Much faster than roasting and is SO delicious!!

  3. this is my favorite veggie—i make these all the time!!!

  4. I love fresh Brussels sprouts – until I’d had the fresh (as opposed to frozen), I thought I hated B.S. There are so many ways to cook them (they are great w/bacon, but this is obviously more of a splurge) and they are uber-healthy. Two thumbs up!

  5. I have to try brussel sprouts as part of my 150 of the Healthiest Foods in 150 Days Challenge – on my blog – http://stacia222.wordpress.com – I’ll have to try this recipe the day that I have brussel sprouts. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

