No Deli Meats for Me!

I’ve been wanting to tell all my readers a little known fact about me: I’m Pregnant!

*This photo is not of me!

Since nutrition plays such a large role in pregnancy, I’m going to use Fridays as my day to inform you of what’s going on in my life and give some advice on nutrition during pregnancy.

I’m currently 22 weeks along, or about 5 months.  I have a little baby girl growing inside of me and so far everything has been going incredibly smoothly.  I have gained the appropriate amount of weight, did not experience any morning sickness, had very slight nausea my first trimester but nothing horrible, and overall am feeling great!  Everyone asks me if I’ve had crazy cravings – and the answer is NO!  I haven’t had one single craving, yes sometimes I want something sweet but that’s no different than before I was pregnant.  I am definitely hungrier, but I’m fueling myself with more snacks and slightly larger meals when needed.  I’m exercising consistently, doing some sort of cardio (jogging, walking, elliptical, swimming) for about 30 minutes 4-5 days/week plus weight training 2-3 days/week.  I’m conscious to make sure my heart rate doesn’t go too high and I’m not doing any exercises lying on my back (which is contraindicated after your 1st trimester).

When it comes to nutrition during pregnancy there are certain foods that are no-nos.  Today I’m going to tell you about Deli Meats.  Deli meats are not allowed during pregnancy since they are often carriers of listeria (a type of bacteria) which can be very harmful for pregnant women.  As a result, many pregnant women think – what can I eat for lunch?  For me it wasn’t a huge deal since I never ate much deli meat, but this can be a huge deal for those that do!  It’s important to make sure you are including some sort of protein with every meal – for me I tend to eat vegetarian during lunch since it’s easiest.  I also save my fish meals for dinner.  Some great sources of vegetarian protein are: eggs, greek yogurt, cottage cheese, beans, and tofu.  So I’ll tell you what my go to lunches have been.

Here are the ones that I make myself:

  • Peanut Butter and Banana on whole wheat bread; cottage cheese; carrot sticks
  • Egg salad sandwich (homemade with 1 whole egg plus 2 whites and low fat mayo) on whole wheat bread plus veggies and a piece of fruit
  • Bean soup (veggie chili, lentil soup, black bean, etc), piece of low fat cheese, whole wheat crackers and fruit
  • Veggie Sandwich (whole wheat bread, hummus, avocado, veggies) plus a greek yogurt with fruit
  • Small vegetable salad plus a greek yogurt with cereal & fruit

If I’m out for lunch, I usually choose:

  • Grilled chicken sandwich with avocado and vegetables.
  • Salad topped with grilled chicken, chickpeas, an assortment of vegetables, and low fat dressing plus a whole wheat roll.

As you can see it’s easy to find a variety of lunches that don’t contain deli meat and are still simple to make.

Do I have any pregnant readers or those who may want to become pregnant in the future?

20 Responses

  1. Congrats and this info will be very helpful one day! Thanks! 🙂

  2. Congratulations Eve! I have been following your blog for awhile, but this is the first time I’ve commented. I hope to have kids in the far future (next 10 years), but I’m looking forward to reading your tips. I want to go into pediatrics some day. Good luck with everything – I’m glad it’s going well so far! 🙂

  3. Congratulations! I’m so excited to learn more about nutrition during pregnancy!

  4. Congratulations! Wanted to let you know that I’m new to reading your blog and I love it! I have linked to it from my blog as one of my favorite blogs b/c our content is similar. I’m blogging about 150 of healthiest foods in 150 days – http://stacia222.wordpress.com and I would love to have you check it out and let me know what you think! I love your blog & will be following it. I hope that some of my readers come check your blog as well! 🙂

  5. Yeah! Congratulations to you! Can’t wait to read more about nutrition during pregnancy.

  6. Congratulations! Can’t wait for the interesting information to come! I am going for my masters in nutrition and find this stuff fascinating!

  7. Congratulations! I am very glad that you will be posting about this. I am trying to get pregnant right now and very concerned about my nutrition during pregnancy.

    • Hi Casey – good luck during the process. Good nutrition is helpful while trying to conceive and while being pregnant, but keep in mind perfection is not necessary 🙂

  8. Congratulations!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😀

  9. I’m pregnant! I’ve never commented 🙂 I’ve found your blog to be exceptional – unique, useful and well written. Congratulations and I’m so glad you did this post! Congratulations!!!

  10. Congratulations! That’s wonderful news.

    Although I have no plans of becoming pregnant in the near future I’m sure all the upcoming information will be very useful!

    Looking forward to reading all about it 🙂

  11. Congratulations!! How exciting and what a wonderful journey to be on 🙂

  12. Congratulations!

    I am not pregnant yet but it is in the books for the next 12 – 18 month. I always wonder how long is the right amount of time to tell your readers that you are pregnant… defiantely not sooner than 3 months.. I had 15 friends who had a baby in 09 and I analyzed (without them knowing) everything they ate and sort of made myself some notes that I thought would come in handy. I will be following you along your journey as I am sure there is much more that I need to learn.

    OH.. by the way there is a baby food maker that I have been madly in-love with incase you are intrested..
    http://www.amazon.com/Beaba-Babycook-Baby-Food-Maker/dp/B001LQCOIS/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1263227574&sr=8-1

    they also have it at Williams Sonoma.. A friend of mine found it at a baby store for about $100 on Tax free weekend 🙂

  13. Congratulations! I’ve been away from my Reader and look what I’ve missed . . . so excited for you! I hope that all continues to go as smoothly as it has so far. Looking forward to following this new journey of yours!

  14. Thanks for all the supportive comments 🙂 I hope to educate you all on nutrition during pregnancy and hopefully it will come to use some day!

  15. Congrats to you! I am too growing a baby–we are at 7 months. From one baby mama to another–way to go girl! 🙂

  16. […] Posts Baked TofuForbidden RiceAbout EveRecipes & Meal IdeasNo Deli Meats for Me!Fettuccine CarbonaraMy Career PathBuffalo "Chicken" PizzaCombatting PMS with NutritionJust Salad […]

  17. […] Deli Meats and Refrigerated Smoked Seafood (lox, nova, kippered) […]

Leave a Reply

