A Healthy “Southern” Meal

Sometimes your body craves comforting, hearty meals.  However, your body might not appreciate all the fat and calories that can come along with them.  Barbecue Chicken and Macaroni and Cheese are two Southern foods that are not traditionally very healthy.  Think chicken skin, lots of sugary barbecue sauce, tons of cheese and pasta.

Last week I decided to make a super simple (nothing fancy) healthier type of “southern” meal.

The dinner I made consisted of Annie’s Whole Wheat Mac & Cheese, BBQ Chicken Breasts, and Roasted Broccoli.  The meal was well balanced: whole grains – check; lean protein – check; vegetables – check; low fat dairy – check. And there was virtually no artery clogging fat.

For the BBQ Chicken Breasts – I don’t really have a recipe, but this is what I did:

  • I added 1 tsp canola oil to a skillet over medium-high heat, and seared two chicken breasts on both sides just to lock in the moisture.
  • Then I topped each breast with 1 Tablespoon of BBQ Sauce (look for one that’s not too high in sodium or sugar), and I baked it in the oven at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes (they were thick breasts, if you use thin ones it will take less time).

For the Mac & Cheese – I prepared it according to the box with skim milk and instead of butter I added 1 triangle of light laughing cow cheese for creaminess.  As you can see I also added in some peas for extra nutrition and flavor.

To Roast Broccoli, simple clean and cut broccoli.  Place on cookie sheet, add cooking spray salt and pepper.  Place in 400 degree oven for approximately 15 minutes.

Healthy, comforting meal made in less than 30 minutes!

2 Responses

  1. I love it when you can satisfy a craving for something “bad” with something nutritious… and this meal is so easy!

  2. Yum! I love Mac and Cheese and roasted broccoli all together! You have such a good mix of healthy grains, lean protein, and vegetables there — now I want to make this, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

