Staying Active While Pregnant

Staying active while pregnant is incredibly important for your own health as well as the baby’s.

Please note I am not a fitness professional, and recommend you seek out the guidance from someone who specializes in prenatal fitness while pregnant.  This is what I have learned from my own experience:

  • Get approval from your doctor before doing anything (some people are not allowed to for various reasons).
  • Talk to a prenatal fitness professional.
  • Do not start a new exercise regime once pregnant (for example if you never ran before, don’t start running!)
  • You don’t want to raise your heart rate too high. Try talking, can you hold a conversation?  If not, then take it down a notch, if you can, then continue.
  • Don’t let yourself get too hot.  You never want your internal temperature to rise too much.  Be careful exercising in hot and humid environments.
  • Make sure to drink a lot of water!
  • Do not do anything lying on your back in the 2nd or 3rd trimesters.
  • Listen to your body!

At 28 weeks (now in the 3rd trimester!), I believe staying active has helped me have a very easy pregnancy thus far.  My symptoms have been almost non existent, and I really don’t “feel” pregnant other than having a growing belly 🙂  I try to walk as much as I can and get in exercise most days of the week.  This works for me since I was extremely active before I became pregnant.

Here’s an example of what I have done this week:

  • Sunday: 30 minutes weight training plus a few miles (~ 3 or 4) of walking
  • Monday: walked a lot (about 8 miles)
  • Tuesday: nothing
  • Wednesday: 10 minutes elliptical, 30 minutes weight training and 7 miles of walking
  • Thursday: 1 hour prenatal pilates class plus 3.5 mile walk
  • Friday: 30 minute run (3 miles)

In addition I walk 1.6 miles every day to and from the subway to get to my office.  So you can see I’m staying very active!  My energy has been fantastic, and I believe exercise plays a great role in that.  I’m actually really excited because I won 5 sessions with a prenatal fitness trainer at a Big City Mom’s Event, and she’s coming to train me on Sunday!

These days there are so many exercises out there for pregnant women.  You can take prenatal yoga and/or pilates classes.  There are fitness classes devoted to pregnant women only.  Swimming is another fantastic workout for pregnant women.  In addition to plain old walking!  I think there’s nothing better than getting outside on a beautiful day and going for a really long walk.  My husband and I cover many miles each weekend day, given that there’s nice weather!  Just make sure to fuel and hydrate yourself appropriately.

What exercise do you enjoy while pregnant?

Leave a Reply

