Winter Workouts

With a couple weeks left of winter, I’m sure there is still some cold weather lurking out there!  We’ve been hit with some gorgeous sunshine, and while it’s there I recommend getting outside to enjoy it!

However, my intern, Ella Kenney, came up with a great post about workouts to do when the weather stinks.  It was just a week ago that we had lots of snow on the ground!

Staying in Shape when the Weather Stinks

Written by: Ella Kenney

As New York City is bombarded with snowflakes I find the desire to curl up on the couch with a steaming mug of hot chocolate (whipped cream and marshmallows please) nearly overwhelming.  But that urge is no excuse to avoid exercise.  If the weather is too nasty to make it to the gym, here are a few ways to get in a good sweat.

  • Self magazine offers excellent at-home fitness tips for all levels.  I particularly like this workout that you can do at home with moves recommended by female Olympic athletes including Linsey Vonn.  Self’s general fitness page also offers a wide variety of at-home exercises with video showing how to execute each step.
  • For the advanced yogis out there, Dave Farmar podcasts come highly recommended (you may have heard his praises sung on other health/fitness blogs).
  • Beginner yoga lovers can benefit from less complex podcasts at YogaDownload.com.
  • And finally, my last resort is old-school boot camp (or middle school gym class) style workouts that really get your heart rate up.  Alternate 1-2 minutes of various cardio activities such as running in place, jumping jacks, jump rope, high-knees, etc., with 1-2 minutes of resistance activities utilizing your body weight such as push-ups, squats, lunges, sit-ups and leg-lifts.  Do this for just 20 minutes and you are guaranteed a workout.

And I do, after all, allow myself a little hot cocoa indulgence, but I lighten the load by heating 8 oz of skim milk in the microwave and melting 3 Hershey’s dark chocolate kisses in the mug.  This totals just 145 calories and 3 g fat, while packing in 25% of daily vitamin D needs (especially important in the winter!), 30% of daily calcium needs, and 8 g lean protein.  Not to mention that dark chocolate is loaded with important disease-fighting antioxidants.  Drink up!

How do you handle exercising when the weather stinks?

2 Responses

  1. I live in NJ so I have been experiencing the same snow days. I have been doing Jillian Michaels workout dvds. I especially like the 30 day shred!

  2. Thankfully I was able to sneak out for a run all throughout the blistery winter months this year. But when the weather was too bad with blizzards and such, I stayed indoors and did yoga or popped in a Biggest Loser DVD which are really great for getting the heart rate up.

    I know certain cable companies offer free exercise programs on demand (I’m thinking comcast) which is also a great option for bad weather. 😀

Leave a Reply

