Pregnancy: Another Food to Avoid – Sprouts

The laundry list of foods to avoid can seem daunting, but there’s good reason for everything!  Today I want to warn you about raw alfalfa and bean sprouts.  Raw sprouts are something you want to avoid during your pregnancy because of the high risk of bacteria (E. Coli and Salmonella) they may contain – this is the same for homegrown or commercially grown sprouts.  Cooked sprouts are fine!

If you’re used to adding sprouts to your sandwiches or salads, think again!   All other vegetables are fine.  When eating out, ask if sprouts are on the salad or sandwich, and make sure to request it sans sprouts.

Washing the sprouts will not remove the bacteria, only cooking will.

My Pregnancy Update: Week 32

Time is flying – I can’t believe it’s only 8 weeks until my due date!  I’m still feeling great and full of energy, well I definitely feel more tired on long hard days than previously, but overall nothing to complain about.

I was finally offered a seat on the subway and bus this week!  I think I have really popped lately and am looking much larger.  She’s moving around so much inside of me it’s so much fun!  I really can’t wait for her arrival.

During the 3rd trimester, it’s very common for women to experience a lot of swelling.  I’m lucky and haven’t experienced this yet.  However, if you do, make sure to drink lots and lots of water, get up and walk around as much as you can, and wear support stockings if you like (they are amazing!).  If I’m going to be on my feet all day I wear them and it’s amazing how much more energy my legs have on days I’m wearing them.

Do you enjoy sprouts?

6 Responses

  1. eeeew! I didn’t know that about sprouts! Thanks!

  2. You have got incredible stuff here.|

  3. Good post. I be taught one thing tougher on totally different blogs everyday. It should always be stimulating to learn content material from other writers and practice a bit of something from their store. I’d favor to make use of some with the content on my weblog whether or not you don’t mind. Natually I’ll give you a hyperlink in your net blog. Thanks for sharing.

  4. As i used to be a student in class a few, the mum thought i often genuinely must overview The english language previously, and so your lover very well then, i will critique from your category related with educator Ye related with Refreshing Building connected with Beijing. Together with the woman category When i started to review the groundbreaking Principle The english language furthermore to dealt with this sentence framework intended for when. Educator Ye we’ll approach this by mouth The english language, jamming on top of that to publishing.

  5. *you have a great blog here! would you like to make some invite posts on my blog?

Leave a Reply

