Is it OK to eat Red Meat?

I think one question that so many clients of mine ask me is: “Can I eat red meat?”  Red meat has gotten such a bad rap because it’s high in fat and cholesterol so when your doctor tells you that you need to lower your cholesterol you automatically eliminate red meat.  Well there is some validity to that, however, it’s not necessary to eliminate all red meat from your diet.  The key is to choose LEAN red meat.

My favorite beef choices are: beef tenderloin, filet mignon or sirloin.  When choosing ground beef, make sure to choose one that is at least 90% lean.  For more about ground beef make sure to read this post I wrote a while back.

Here’s the nutrition breakdown:

  • 3 oz of broiled filet mignon (all fat removed) has: 175 calories, 8 grams fat, 3 grams saturated fat and 25 grams of protein.
  • Yes it does contain 78 mg cholesterol (26% DV), however, saturated fat plays a greater role in blood cholesterol levels than cholesterol itself.
  • Red meat contains heme-iron which is absorbed at a greater rate than non-heme iron (found in vegetable sources).  This may be important for people who are anemic, women, and in particular pregnant women who’s needs are higher.
  • Keep in mind most restaurants serve portions that are much greater than 3 oz.  In fact 6 oz would be considered a small serving (350 calories).  At a steak house you may be getting 12 oz which will be over 700 calories, because they also add butter to it!
  • When ordering steak out, request it without added butter and get the sauce on the side.   Also considering getting a soup or salad to start and sharing the meat with someone or taking half home.

I had filet mignon for dinner the other night and served it with roasted potatoes, broccoli and kale.  It was a delicious dinner and a nice change from the usual chicken

Do you eat red meat?  What’s your favorite type?

2 Responses

  1. I’m not a huge red meat kind of person, but I do love a good bison burger now and then. 😀

    I’ve actually never tried filet mignon but I’ve heard it’s delicious. I’ll need to give it a try sometime! Your dinner looks fabulous. 😀

  2. I eat it once in a great while – maybe every 6 months or so – and almost never any way but ground. I just don’t have a taste for a piece of meat, I guess! A juicy hamburger is what I crave most often. Or old-school taco meat – but usually atop a salad and not in shells.

Leave a Reply

