Black Bean & Corn Salad

This is one of my all-time favorite recipes, and while I wish I could take credit for it, I can’t!  But Cooking Light can. It reminds me of the summer, something that it lately has felt like here in NYC!

I follow the recipe to a T and it can be found here.  Since it’s not corn season yet, I used no salt added canned corn, but it’s even better when you have fresh corn on the cob.

Last night I served this as a side dish to beef tacos.  Today I’m eating it on top of salad with guacamole and cheese for lunch.  I’m sure it would be delicious made into quesadillas as well!  I have a lot leftover so I’m sure I’ll be eating it in a few more variations as well!

Nutrition Tidbit: Black Beans

  • Black beans are a nutrition powerhouse.
  • They are full of fiber (1/2 cup = 8 grams).
  • They’re brimming with disease fighting antioxidants – yes beans have a lot, they’re not only in your fruits & veggies!
  • Black beans also contain folate (great during pregnancy!), manganese, protein, magnesium, vitamin B1, phosphorus and iron.
  • The combination of fiber and protein gives you stable energy while preventing spikes in your blood sugar.
  • And they’re inexpensive!

Do you cook or eat black beans?  What is your favorite recipe?

2 Responses

  1. I love black beans! I usually make a sweet potato & black bean burger or just add the beans to a wrap. They are super versatile and tasty. 🙂

  2. Yum, that recipe sounds great! I love making burrito bowls with black beans, rice, salsa, cheese, lettuce, etc. My husband won’t touch any beans with a ten-foot pole though, so it’s my “home alone” meal.

Leave a Reply

