Healthy Football Spread

It is football season as we all know, which usually means unhealthy food.  Since I’m married to a Florida Gator, I have become a fan myself and watch them most Saturdays in the fall.  Thankfully, our group of friends is not into the bar scene, so I don’t have to navigate bar food.  However, we do meet at someone’s apartment.  This past Saturday we invited people over to our apartment.  The game was at 3:30, therefore I didn’t need a ton of food since it was not a meal time.  Since it was a last minute decision, I made a spread based on the food I had around, and I think everyone enjoyed it!

In the center you see homemade pita chips, carrots, celery, hummus, homemade yogurt dip. On the left is edamame and on the right is my homemade white bean salad.

To make the pita chips, I sliced the pita bread in half horizontally, to make them thin.  Then I combined olive oil with salt, pepper, rosemary, and basil and spread a very thin later on each pita before cutting them into 8 pieces.  I baked them in oven for 8 minutes at 400 degrees.  I thought they were great!

The yogurt dip was good, but came out too thin because I blended everything together which thinned out the thick greek yogurt.  Warning: do not blend greek yogurt unless you want it to become thin!  I added cucumber, cilantro, garlic, lemon juice, salt & pepper to plain fat free greek yogurt.

My friend brought a huge fruit platter with honeydew, cantaloupe, pineapple, strawberries and grapes it was delicious!

This should be a great example that you don’t need to eat unhealthy when watching football.  This spread was for 5 guys and 3 girls, and I would say the guys enjoyed it too!

One Response

  1. This looks great! I just posted about the 5 appetizers I made for game day and I must say I had the same reaction it sounds like you had above. Everyone loved having healthy options around (especially b/c they tasted really good).

Leave a comment