Another Kitchen Staple: Coffee

My morning cup of joe is probably what gets me out of bed in the morning.  Well that and my 6 month old daughter “telling me” that it’s feeding time.

I gave up coffee during my pregnancy.  Not that you have to, but it sort of made me nauseous and I was able to phase it out and had a few decaf lattes when I was craving a warm drink.  However, sleepless nights as a new mom got me back into my old habit and I’m here to tell you it’s not a bad thing to drink coffee!

Why I love coffee:

  • There’s something ritualistic about a morning cup of joe
  • I love the taste of good coffee (bad coffee is just…bad!)
  • It gets me going in the morning

Why coffee is good for you:

  • some studies have shown that coffee drinkers are less likely to have type 2 diabetes, Parkinson’s disease, and dementia.
  • some studies have also shown that coffee drinkers have a lower incidence of some cancers, heart rhythm problems and strokes.
  • it contains antioxidants which can fight off the bad free radicals roaming in your body.

The downside of coffee:

  • There are a few substances in coffee that have been shown to slightly increase cholesterol.  Filtered coffee removes these substances but they are not removed in the french press or espresso drinks.
  • It may make you jittery, anxious and irritable
  • It can disrupt your sleep

Bottom Line:

  • Don’t become a coffee drinker just to reap the benefits.
  • If you are a coffee drinker, do so in moderation: 1-2 cups/day
  • Watch out for the coffee add-ins: the milk and creamers and sugar can turn this rather good beverage into something very unhealthy.  Choose fat free or low fat milk and limit sugar.
  • Make your own coffee you will save a ton of money and you will help save the environment by not using the throw away cups!

Tomorrow’s Post: Can You Drink Coffee while Breastfeeding?

 

3 Responses

  1. เครื่องชงกาแฟสด เครื่องบดกาแฟ ราคากันเอง

  2. […] while PregnantSlow Cooker Recipe: Mushroom Barley SoupFettuccine CarbonaraRecipes & Meal IdeasAnother Kitchen Staple: CoffeeBeef TacosAbout EveSpaghetti SquashWarm up with Hot […]

  3. wow, wonderful.

Leave a comment