Slow Cooker Recipe: Mushroom Barley Soup

The cold months scream soup to me, and there’s nothing better than coming home from a long day and finding one ready for you via the Slow Cooker!  Yetserday I put my slow cooker to good use.  I threw all the ingredients in the pot, set it on low for 8 hours, and came home to warm deliciousness.

Slow Cooker: Mushroom Barley Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pound White Button Mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
  • 1/2 pound Baby Bella Mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
  • 1 sweet onion, diced
  • 3 carrots, diced
  • 3 celery ribs, diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3/4 cup pearl barley
  • 6 cups low sodium vegetable or chicken stock
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  • Combine all ingredients in slow cooker
  • Set on low for 6-8 hours
  • Once finished, taste for seasoning

Do you cook soups in your slow cooker?

13 Responses

  1. Lately I’ve been on a soup kick, and soups in the slow-cooker are the easiest of all . . . this one looks so delicious – we are big barley soup fans over here, but not beef barley.

  2. Sounds like a perfect weekend meal. 🙂

  3. This looks a lot like the mushroom and barley soup that I had made last week. It was so good. I think barley and mushrooms were made for each other. 😀

    I’ve never actually used a slow cooker, but I’d love to start. It would be so convenient for late-night dinners!

  4. I made your recipe (although a larger portion as I got carried away with the mushrooms) last night and it cooked all day. It was delicious! I love how good the house smelled when I got home too. Do you have more slow-cooker recipes to share?

  5. I tried this recipe today, and I’m not sure why, but it didn’t turn out all that good. There was something about the texture that really turned me off; it was almost…slimy? Also, all the liquid had been adsorbed so it felt more like a porridge than a soup.

    I substituted white mushrooms for the baby bella, but other than that, I followed the recipe. Did I do something wrong?

  6. Hi I live in Australia and not too sure what Baby bella mushrooms are? Thanks!

  7. Hi. I can’t wait to try this, my mom used to make mushroom/barley all the time. What size slow cooker are your recipes geared toward?

  8. This looks great! but I don’t have a slow cooker. How long would you cook this without one?

  9. […] Julie: Mushroom Barley Soup […]

  10. I bought quick cooking barley by accident. Do I still cook it for the same amount of time or do I add the barley later in the cooking process?

  11. Hi Eve:
    Just a question. Are you still doing this blog? i noticed you haven’t written anything since about 2010??? Hoping that all is well with you and yours. G- d Bless and Keep you. joan

Leave a comment